Skip to content

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame's 2020 Nominees

You can vote for your 5 favorites among Whitney Houston, Pat Benatar and other stars

Notorious B.I.G., Pat Benatar, Chris Cornell of Soundgarden and Whitney Houston

Notorious B.I.G., Pat Benatar, Chris Cornell of Soundgarden and Whitney Houston

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announced 16 nominees to be considered for induction in 2020 — an eclectic selection of artists ranging from soul singer Whitney Houston to metal band Judas Priest and rap legend Notorious B.I.G.

Artists and bands are eligible for nomination 25 years after the release of their first commercial recordings. First-time nominees for 2020 are Houston, Dave Matthews Band, the Doobie Brothers, Motörhead, Notorious B.I.G., Pat Benatar, Soundgarden, T. Rex, and Thin Lizzy.

Returning nominees are Depeche Mode, Judas Priest, Kraftwerk, MC5, Nine Inch Nails, Rufus featuring Chaka Khan, and Todd Rundgren.

The 2019 Hall of Fame Inductees

The Cure

Def Leppard

Janet Jackson

Stevie Nicks


Roxy Music

The Zombies

Ballots are sent to an international voting body of more than 1,000 artists, historians and members of the music industry who will consider nominees’ influence on other artists, career and body of work's length and depth, and innovation in style and technique.

Fans can participate in the selection process from Oct. 15 through Jan. 10 by voting for their favorite through Google,, or at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame museum. The top five artists selected by the public will form a “fans’ ballot” that will be tallied with the same weight as the other ballots to select the 2020 inductees. (You can select up to five nominees daily.)

The induction ceremony will take place on May 2, 2020, at the Public Auditorium in Cleveland, Ohio.