Skip to content

AARP Purpose Prize Honorees

purpose prize winner collage

Left to right: Rory Doyle, Craig Mulcahy, Gabriela Hasbun (2), Jared Soares

2024 Purpose Prize winners, from left to right: Peter Jensen, Janice Malone, Don Schoendorfer, Laura Stachel, and Ken Falke.

En español | You live. You learn. You give back. No one knows this better than people ages 50 and older, who have spent decades accumulating a wealth of knowledge that only life experience can bring. Armed with this wisdom, they are a powerhouse of innovation tackling some of the greatest societal challenges of our time and inspiring others to do the same.

The AARP® Purpose Prize® award supports AARP's mission by honoring extraordinary people ages 50 and older who tap into the power of life experience to build a better future for us all.  

“Our Purpose Prize winners and fellows are shining examples of a simple, yet profound truth: When we find our sense of purpose — that certain something that gives us a reason to get up and get going every day — we not only give meaning to our own lives, we make the world a better place for everyone,” said AARP CEO Jo Ann Jenkins.

AARP Purpose Prize winners received $50,000 for their founded nonprofits. Additionally, 10 AARP Purpose Prize fellows received $10,000 for their organizations. All winners and fellows receive a year of technical support to help broaden the scope of their organization’s work.

Through October 18, 2023, the general public will have the opportunity to vote at for the AARP Purpose Prize Winner they would like to win the AARP Inspire Award, which grants the recipient an additional $10,000 for their organization. The AARP Inspire Award recipient will be announced on October 25, 2023.


Honorary Award

Gary Sinise

Courtesy Gary Sinise Foundation

AARP is presenting award-winning actor and humanitarian Gary Sinise with an honorary Purpose Prize Award for his founding and leadership of the Gary Sinise Foundation. Founded in 2011, the Gary Sinise Foundation honors military members, veterans, first responders, their families, and those in need. It creates and supports unique programs designed to entertain, educate, inspire, strengthen, and build communities. The Foundation’s initiatives include building mortgage free, specially adapted homes for severely wounded veterans and first responders, uplifting military members and families through entertainment, mental wellness programs, and financial support in times of urgent need.