AARP Hearing Center
Ground Cinnamon Products Recalled for Elevated Lead Levels
FDA adds more brands to its ongoing alert; contaminated cinnamon may raise blood lead levels
This article used AI tools to compile recall data. An AARP editor reviewed and refined the content for accuracy and clarity.
A public health alert for ground cinnamon has been expanded after testing found elevated lead levels in 16 brands sold in the U.S. The alert, which has been updated multiple times since 2024, advises consumers to throw away and avoid purchasing the affected products, according to the Food and Drug Administration.
More Ways to Benefit
- Related Benefit 1
- Related Benefit 2
- Related Benefit 3
- Related Benefit 4
- Related Benefit 5
State sampling programs and FDA testing found that several ground cinnamon products contained lead concentrations ranging from about 2.03 to 7.68 parts per million (ppm). Although the FDA states that “there is no known safe level of exposure to lead,” the agency’s limit for bottled water is 5 parts ppm. By comparison, the Environmental Protection Agency allows up to 15 ppm of lead in public drinking water.
Although no illnesses have been reported so far, the FDA says prolonged exposure to elevated lead levels “may be unsafe,” and the agency continues to evaluate product safety.
Which ground cinnamon products have been recalled?
The affected products were distributed through various retailers in Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Florida, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma and Virginia..
Consumers should review the list below carefully and discard any affected items:
Roshni Ground Cinnamon (2.268 ppm)
- Sold by: Not specified
HAETAE Ground Cinnamon (4.60 ppm)
- Sold by: Not specified
Durra Ground Cinnamon (2.44 ppm)
- Sold by: Retailer not specified but distributed to grocery stores in California and Michigan
Wise Wife Ground Cinnamon (2.49 ppm)
- Sold by: Retailer not specified, distributed to retailers in New Jersey, New York, Florida, Maryland, Minnesota, Oklahoma and Ohio
Jiva Organics Ground Cinnamon (2.29 ppm)
- Sold by: TAJ Supermarket
Super Brand Cinnamon Powder (6.60–7.68 ppm)
- Sold by: Asian Supermarket, Little Rock, Arkansas
Asli Cinnamon Powder (2.32 ppm)
- Sold by: A&Y Global Market, Columbia, Missouri
El Chilar Ground Cinnamon (3.75–7.01 ppm)
- Sold by: El Torito Market
Marcum Ground Cinnamon (2.14–2.22 ppm)
- Sold by: Save A Lot
SWAD Ground Cinnamon (2.89 ppm)
- Sold by: Patel Brothers
Supreme Tradition Ground Cinnamon (2.37 ppm)
- Sold by: Dollar Tree
Compania Indillor Orientale Ground Cinnamon (2.23 ppm)
- Sold by: Eurogrocery
ALB Flavor Ground Cinnamon (3.93 ppm)
- Sold by: Eurogrocery
Shahzada Cinnamon Powder (2.03 ppm)
- Sold by: Premium Supermarket
Spice Class Ground Cinnamon (2.04 ppm)
- Sold by: Fish World, New York
La Frontera Ground Cinnamon (2.66 ppm)
- Sold by: Frutas Y Abarrotes Mexico, Inc.
For full lot codes, images and updates, view the FDA announcement.
What should consumers do?
Do not use or eat the listed products; throw them away and do not purchase more.
Because spices have a long shelf life, check kitchen cabinets and discard affected items.
If you think a child or pregnant person may have been exposed, contact a health care provider to discuss blood lead testing.
For brand‑specific refund instructions, see the linked FDA company recall pages above. Affected products without recalls should be thrown away.
Safety risks of lead exposure
Lead exposure can cause neurological damage, learning difficulties and developmental delays in children. Adults may face kidney dysfunction, hypertension and neurocognitive effects with chronic exposure.
For older adults, prolonged exposure may contribute to cognitive decline and memory impairment, increase cardiovascular risks such as hypertension, and worsen kidney function. Studies suggests historic lead exposure may leave a lasting imprint on brain health, raising susceptibility to age-related diseases like Alzheimer’s.
While symptoms are often not immediate, the FDA advises those who believe they have symptoms of lead exposure to contact their health care provider.
AARP Membership
Join AARP for only $15 per year with automatic renewal. Get instant access to members-only products and hundreds of benefits, a free second membership, and a subscription to AARP The Magazine.
More From AARP
Product Recalls and Consumer Safety
The latest alerts impacting your health and homeDining Out? Tips to Stay Safe
Expert advice to minimize risk of foodborne illness
28 Tips for Avoiding Food-Borne Illness
Protect yourself with AARP's guide to food safety