How and Why You Should Delete Your Old Text Messages

Wipe away privacy and financial risks, or sheer embarrassment, from your texts

a text message with the word delete on it next to a trash can
AARP (Getty Images, 3)

Key takeaways

  • Deleting old text messages can free up storage space and remove unwanted conversations from your device.
  • iPhone users can set messages to automatically delete messages that are older than 30 days or one year, but should consider saving sentimental content first.
  • iMessages can be unsent within two minutes or edited up to five times within 15 minutes, though recipients can see that changes were made.

Got a tech query? AARP members and readers are invited to send me their questions about devices, online safety, social media and navigating today’s technology.

In the past, I’ve written some texts to friends that I’m frankly not proud of. I’ve also sent texts with personal information that I fear could be exploited by eavesdroppers or hackers. I know now to be extra careful before hitting Send. But is it too late to delete older texts?

More Ways to Benefit

Most of us have been there: dashing off embarrassing texts to family, friends, employers and clients without taking a moment to consider the consequences.

In hindsight, we wish we could magically make those texts disappear from both our phones and the recipients’ devices.

The good news is that eliminating mortifying texts on your smartphone is a breeze. You’ll reclaim some storage space as a bonus.

The bad news is that unless you recognized the offending texts right away and deleted them, you can’t remotely remove them from other devices.

Even if you are successful at yanking back a text message, you have no guarantee it hasn’t been read. In a worst-case scenario, someone could have taken a screenshot before you were able to zap it.

How you, I and countless others got into this mess

Typing before thinking is usually the culprit in one of these embarrassing moments. As humans, we tend to act on emotion without pausing to double-check assertions before hitting Send.

My article from a few years ago, 13 Things You Should (Almost) Never Put in a Text, which remains relevant, pointed out no-nos, including spreading gossip, complaining about your boss, pining for unattainable love and sharing private information.

I periodically dispatch texts riddled with unfortunate typos. Or worse, I’ll send a text to the wrong person.

How to delete messages to clean up your phone

Deleting texts can save considerable space on your devices, even if none of them are embarrassing. Case in point: Last I checked, the Messages app on my iPhone gobbled up 5.3 gigabytes of storage.

Get More From AARP

Clear out iPhone texts. To delete messages individually, open the Messages app, press and hold the message you want to remove, then tap Delete. Then tap either Delete again to confirm, or Delete and Report Spam if you suspect the message is spam. Tap anywhere else on the screen if you change your mind.

To delete texts in bulk, open Messages, tap Edit in the upper left corner of the screen, then tap Select Messages. Tap the circle to the left of each message you want to remove so a check mark appears. Next, tap the Trash Can icon at the bottom right. Again, you can report spam or cancel.

If you visit ⚙️ Settings | Apps | Messages | Message History and tap Keep Messages, you can change Forever to 30 Days or 1 Year. This will permanently delete sent or received messages that are older. But before you automate, consider whether you have any sentimental photos or audio messages you never want to delete.

Jettison Google Messages. Android phones vary, but Google Messages is the default messaging app not only on Google’s own Pixel devices but also, as of July 2024, on Samsung Galaxy handsets.

Open Google Messages, press and hold the message you want to get rid of so that a checkmark appears to the left. To remove messages in bulk, press and hold additional messages to select them.

Tap the 🗑️ wastebasket icon at the upper right corner of the screen. When Move chat to trash? or Move x chats to trash? appears, tap Move to trash to confirm their removal, or Cancel to abort the operation. Tap Undo if you change your mind.

How to unsend iMessages before time runs out

Let the countdown begin. If you’re sending an iMessage on an iPhone through the Messages app, you have up to two minutes to recall it. Your phone must be running version iOS 16 or later.

Apple also lets you unsend iMessages on iPads, Macs and the company’s Vision Pro headset, provided those devices are running the requisite operating system software.

AARP NEWSLETTERS

Mujer leyendo tableta

%{ newsLetterPromoText  }%

%{ description }%

On iPhone, in the Messages app, touch and hold the message bubble for the iMessage you want to pull back, then tap Undo Send. Be aware that this operation isn’t opaque.

Both you and the recipient will receive a note that a message was unsent. Still, if successful, the text should be gone from the recipient’s device.

You May Also Like

Worth noting: Only iMessages can be removed in this manner. You can’t recall messages sent in other text messaging protocols, including short message service (SMS) texts or rich communication services (RCS), which Apple recently embraced. Such messages will appear in the Messages app in green bubbles instead of blue.

Unsending a text has no direct Android equivalent. But Meta messaging apps Facebook Messenger, Instagram and WhatsApp, which run on iOS and Android platforms, offer their own unsend options.

Bonus tip: Edit an iMessage rather than unsend it

If you waited past the two-minute mark before realizing you wanted to claw back an iPhone iMessage, you have another option. You can edit a message within 15 minutes of sending it.

Keep What Matters Safe

Keep your most important documents in one secure place. With the AARP Digital Vault, you can store, organize and access digital copies of your insurance policies, tax records, and photos anytime, anywhere. It’s just $20 a year as an add-on AARP membership benefit.

Apple lets you edit a sent message up to five times within that 15-minute span.

Touch and hold the message bubble for the message you want to tweak. Tap Edit and make your changes. Once satisfied, you can resend the message by tapping a ✓⃝ circled checkmark or tapping the X to revert to the original text.

Both you and the recipient will see a note in the conversation transcript that the message was edited. And both of you can tap Edited to see previous versions of the message.

So you’re not quite eliminating that original, embarrassing missive. But perhaps your edit gives you a chance to express a mea culpa and be forgiven.

The key takeaways were created with the assistance of generative AI. An AARP editor reviewed and refined the content for accuracy and clarity.

This story, originally published April 15, 2025, has been updated with new information.

Red AARP membership card displayed at an angle

AARP Membership

Join AARP for only $15 per year with automatic renewal. Get instant access to members-only products and hundreds of benefits, a free second membership, and a subscription to AARP The Magazine. 



AARP NEWSLETTERS

Mujer leyendo tableta

%{ newsLetterPromoText  }%

%{ description }%

Recommended For You

Unlock Access to AARP Members Edition