How Can I Wipe My PC Clean Before Giving It Away?

You want to donate your computer, or pass it along to a friend or stranger, but worry that your personal data remains

4-minute read

a laptop with a reset button surronded by the clicker icon and gloved hands holding cleaning bottles
Before you hand off your old computer, take steps to erase personal files, photos and account information.
AARP (Getty Images, 4)

Key takeaways

  • Manually deleting files is not always enough to protect personal information.
  • Back up photos, videos and documents before restoring factory settings.
  • File-shredding tools may add protection when giving a PC to a stranger.

Got a tech query? AARP members and readers are invited to send me their questions  about devices, online safety, social media and navigating today’s technology. 

I’ve just bought a new personal computer and would like to donate my old one, which still works, to a friend or someone who can use it. For privacy’s sake, I want to make sure nothing remains on the hard drive. Is it safe to manually delete files, or must I take extra steps?

More Ways to Benefit

I’m sure your largesse will be greatly appreciated by whomever you give the computer to, and if at the end of the day you decide to recycle it instead, that’s OK too.

You are wise to question whether manually deleting personal files will suffice, given the understandable concerns nowadays about privacy and security. The quick answer is no.

A better decision is to reset the machine to factory settings, but only after ensuring that your photos, videos, documents and other files you want to preserve are safely backed up on your new computer and, for added security, stored in a cloud (internet) service and/or on an external storage device.

Keeping that in mind, here’s how to proceed.

Ask the Tech Guru

Resetting Microsoft Windows PCs

On Windows 11 PCs, open Settings | System | Recovery | Reset PC. Since you intend to give the computer away, select Remove everything as your next step.

Choose the Clean data option to exorcise files and bleach the drive clean. Microsoft says this step can take some time, but ultimately it makes it more difficult for outsiders to recover whatever you’ve removed.

Even so, there’s a disclaimer: Microsoft cautions that erasing data according to the above steps is a consumer experience that “does not meet government and industry data erase standards.” In other words, crooks with sophisticated tools may be able to recover files.

Take this as you will, but essentially it is up to you to determine the sensitivity of anything that could be exploited or used against you by a malicious individual with bad intentions. I’m presuming whoever you’re voluntarily giving the computer to does not fit that description.

If you are giving it to a stranger or someone you don’t fully trust, consider running third-party file-shredding tools such as CBL Data Shredder, BleachBit, Eraser or Secure Eraser. All promise an extra layer of security, preventing old files from being resurrected.

Let me also briefly note here that if you are resetting the computer because, say, it has been underperforming and it’s been some time since you installed an app or altered the system settings, you can always choose the Keep my files option instead. Apps and settings are deep-sixed, but documents, photos and other personal data are retained.

I’ll also remind folks still using PCs running Windows 10 that while those computers may continue to work, Microsoft ended support for this older operating system in October 2025 and recommends updating to Windows 11. It’s fair to assume that the older machine is operating on borrowed time.

Donating a Mac

As with a Windows PC, make sure to back up the contents of your Mac before restoring it to factory settings. If the machine is covered by Apple’s AppleCare warranty program, remember also to either cancel that plan or transfer it to the new owner.

Get More From AARP

Then do the following: Click the Apple menu at the upper-left corner of the screen and choose System Settings | General and scroll down to Transfer or Reset. If your computer is running an older Mac operating system, System Settings is listed as System Preferences.

Keep What Matters Safe

Keep your most important documents in one secure place. With the AARP Digital Vault, you can store, organize and access digital copies of your insurance policies, tax records, and photos anytime, anywhere. It’s just $20 a year as an add-on AARP membership benefit.

Next, click Erase All Content and Settings. You’ll be asked to enter your administrative credentials and then click Unlock. Beyond removing the media and data from the machine, Apple reminds you of other consequences if you continue. All fingerprints used to unlock the machine via Touch ID will be removed, Bluetooth accessories will be unpaired, credit cards will be deactivated from Apple Wallet, and location sharing will be turned off.

Click Continue if you’re still good to go.

When the process is complete, “Hello” is displayed on the screen, indicating that the computer is ready for its new owner

This column, originally published October 28, 2025, has been updated since Microsoft ended support for Windows 10 PCs.

The key takeaways were created with the assistance of generative AI. An AARP editor reviewed and refined the content for accuracy and clarity.

Red AARP membership card displayed at an angle

AARP Membership

Join AARP for only $15 per year with automatic renewal. Get instant access to members-only products and hundreds of benefits, a free second membership, and a subscription to AARP The Magazine. 



AARP NEWSLETTERS

Mujer leyendo tableta

%{ newsLetterPromoText  }%

%{ description }%

Recommended For You

Unlock Access to AARP Members Edition