Skip to content

The 8 Domains of Livability: An Introduction

The availability and quality of these community features impact the well-being of older adults

The 8 Domains of Livability framework is used by many of the towns, cities, counties and states enrolled in the AARP Network of Age-Friendly States and Communities to organize and prioritize their work to become more livable for both older residents and people of all ages.

The 8 Domains of Livability

The photographs and captions featured below provide a handy introduction to the eight domains concept. Links to related publications and additional resources (including a downloadable PDF of the slideshow) are listed further down the page.

Download a PDF graphic of “The 8 Domains of Livability”

The Domains at Work

AARP Network of Age-Friendly States and Communities

A map showing the network's membership as of November 2019.

Stay Informed — For Free!

Each issue of the award-winning AARP Livable Communities e-Newsletter contains a mix of inspiring examples, community resources and information about livability efforts from places near and far. Subscribe today!

AARP Livable Communities Newsletter

Page updated April 2020