Skip to content
 

The Member List

571 communities nationwide — and counting! See the list and interactive map below

Network Connections

Nearly 100 million people live in a town, city, county, territory or state that has enrolled in the AARP Network of Age-Friendly States and Communities.


See an Interactive Map of the network's current membership »

Learn about the States and Territory in the network »

Read Community Profiles of select network members »

Find Articles about age-friendly network members »

Membership in the AARP Network of Age-Friendly States and Communities does not mean AARP is endorsing any of the following municipalities as a place to live. Nor does it mean the community or state listed is currently "age-friendly."

What membership does means is that the community's elected leadership has made the commitment to actively work toward making their town, city, county or state a great place to live for people of all ages.

(Thus far, CaliforniaColorado, Florida, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, New JerseyNew York and the U.S. Virgin Islands have enrolled as state or territory members.) 

Age-friendly communities are inclusive and considerate of the perspectives of all residents, of all ages, and all persuasions. 

Age-friendly communities encourage and benefit from diverse citizen engagement by including residents in a process to identify the community’s needs, and develop and implement an action plan to address those needs.

Participation in the network involves following a multi-step process of improvement. A link to a community's age-friendly action plan and progress reports appear in the lists below if those steps in the improvement process have been reached.

(States without any member communities are not included in the list below.)


In addition to enrolling in the AARP network, membership can be pursued for the World Health Organization Global Network for Age-Friendly Cities and Communities. Information about that program is available at AgeFriendlyWorld.org

For more information, contact: AARP Alabamaalaarp@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Arizonaaarpaz@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Arkansasaraarp@aarp.org

California is a state member of the network | Joined 2021 

For more information, contact: AARP Californiacaaarp@aarp.org

Colorado is a state member of the network | Joined 2018 

For more information, contact: AARP Coloradocoaarp@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Connecticutctaarp@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Washington, DCdcaarp@aarp.org

Florida is a state member of the network: Joined 2019 

For more information, contact: AARP Florida,  flaarp@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Georgiagaaarp@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Hawaiihiaarp@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Idahoaarpid@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Illinoisaarpil@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Indianain@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Iowaia@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Kansasksaarp@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Kentuckyky@aarp.org

Maine is a state member of the network | Joined 2019 

For more information, contact: AARP Maineme@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Marylandmd@aarp.org

Massachusetts is a state member of the network | Joined 2018  

For more information, contact: AARP Massachusettsma@aarp.org

Michigan is a state member of the network | Joined 2019  

For more information, contact: AARP Michiganmiaarp@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Minnesotaaarpmn@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Mississippimsaarp@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Missouri, aarpmo@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Montanamtaarp@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Nebraskaneaarp@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Nevada, aarpnv@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP New Hampshirenh@aarp.org

New Jersey is a state member of the network | Joined 2021

For more information, contact: AARP New Jersey:njaarp@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP New Mexiconmaarp@aarp.org

New York is a state member of the network | Joined 2017 

For more information, contact: AARP New Yorknyaarp@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP North Carolinancaarp@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP North Dakotaaarpnd@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Ohioohaarp@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Oregon, oraarp@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Pennsylvaniaaarpa@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Puerto Ricoaarppr@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Rhode Islandri@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP South Carolina, scaarp@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP South Dakotasdaarp@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Tennessee, tnaarp@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Texasaarptx@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Utahaarput@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Vermontvtaarp@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Virgin Islandsviaarp@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Virginiaaarpva@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Washingtonaarpwa@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP West Virginiaaarpwv@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Wisconsinaarpwi@aarp.org

For more information, contact: AARP Wyomingwyaarp@aarp.org

Stay Informed — For Free!

The weekly, award-winning AARP Livable Communities e-Newsletter provides local leaders with information and inspiration for making their town, city or neighborhood more livable for older adults and people of all ages. Subscribe today!

Our Free Publications!

See the complete list at AARP.org/LivableLibrary

Follow Us

Contact Us

 
  • Email AARP Livable Communities at Livable@AARP.org.

  • Ask about the AARP Livability Index by completing this online form.

  • AARP Members: For questions about your benefits, AARP The Magazine or the AARP Bulletin, visit the AARP Contact Us page or call 1-888-OUR-AARP (1-888-687-2277).