Skip to content

The 8 Domains of Livability: An Introduction

The availability and quality of these community features impact the well-being of older adults

The 8 Domains of Livability framework is used by many of the towns, cities, counties and states enrolled in the AARP Network of Age-Friendly States and Communities to organize and prioritize their work to become more livable for both older residents and people of all ages.

The downloadable handout and slideshow below are handy introductions to the eight domains concept. Links to related publications and additional resources are listed further down the page.

1. The 8 Domains of Livability Handout

Click here or on the image to download the graphic as a PDF.

2. The 8 Domains of Livability Slideshow

Click here to download a 10-page PDF of the slideshow.

Page updated April 2020