Skip to content

Board of Directors

Group portrait of the board of directors of A A R P.

Back Row (L to R): Jaime P. Gutierrez, David Adame, Diane D. Miller, Neal Lane, Harry E. Johnson Sr., Tim Kelly Front Row (L to R): Ann G. Daw, Lloyd Johnson (Chair), AARP Foundation President Lisa Marsh Ryerson

The all-volunteer Board of Directors is the governing body of AARP Foundation.

Lloyd Johnson, MBA, (Board Chair) of Charlotte, North Carolina, is managing director and global chief audit executive with Accenture. He has more than 25 years' experience in auditing, finance, accounting, mergers and acquisitions, divestitures and risk management with large corporations. Prior to Accenture, his career experience included senior finance positions with automobile electronics and components maker Delphi, Emerson Electric and Sara Lee Corporation. He began his career as an accountant at Coopers & Lybrand. He serves on the volunteer board at the United Way of Central Carolinas, where he chairs the audit committee and sits on the finance and executive committees. He also serves as a member of the Blumenthal Performing Arts Board of Trustees, where he chairs the governance committee and sits on the executive committee. In 2014, Mr. Johnson was appointed to the AARP Foundation Board of Directors and currently serves as the board chair.

David Adame of Phoenix, Arizona, was appointed to the AARP Foundation Board of Directors in 2016. He is president and CEO of Chicanos Por La Causa, Inc., (CPLC) the largest community development corporation (CDC) in Arizona and the third largest Hispanic CDC in the country. Mr. Adame began at CPLC in 1985 before leaving to hold positions at several organizations, including JP Morgan Chase, Fannie Mae, and McCormack Baron Salazar. As senior deputy director for Fannie Mae in their Arizona Partnership Office he worked to form a comprehensive housing investment strategy to provide $15 billion in affordable mortgage financing.

Mr. Adame returned to CPLC in 2008, serving as chief economic development officer. Since returning to CPLC, he has raised more than $250 million in resources from government agencies, corporations, and foundations — all during one of the most severe recessions in U.S. history.

Ronald E. Daly Sr., MBA, of Olympia Fields, Illinois, spent 38 years at the RR Donnelley Company, beginning as a factory worker and advancing to the level of president of its largest unit. After retiring from RR Donnelley, he served as president and CEO of Oce' USA Holdings and was a member of the board of directors of the parent company, Oce' N.V. of the Netherlands, until 2004. He serves on the board of U.S. Cellular and formerly served on the boards of Loyola University of Chicago, Executive Service Corps of Chicago, the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Metropolis Strategies and SuperValu.

Mr. Daly previously served on the AARP Foundation board from 2012 to 2014 and was reappointed in 2016.

Ann G. Daw of Crompond, New York, was appointed to the AARP Foundation Board of Directors in 2016. She was recently president of the not-for-profit Specialty Food Association (SFA), a position she had held since 2006. During her tenure, membership grew by more than 30 percent, attendance at the SFA trade shows in New York and San Francisco grew exponentially, and net assets increased five-fold. She expanded educational offerings and research for the association's members and fostered innovation and outreach. She also established the organization's first foundation to fight hunger and reduce food waste. 

Prior to leading the SFA, Ms. Daw held senior management and marketing positions with Kraft Foods and Philip Morris International, domestically and abroad. She currently sits on a number of boards, including the World Education Services as head of its governance committee, and advises and mentors startups and turnarounds.

Jaime P. Gutierrez of Tucson, Arizona, was appointed to the AARP Foundation Board of Directors in 2012. He serves on the finance committee and the audit committee. Mr. Gutiérrez worked at the University of Arizona for over 20 years in a variety of senior administrative positions, including special assistant to the president, assistant and associate vice president for community relations, and interim vice president for external relations. He was an Arizona state senator for 14 years and was named by his peers as one of Arizona’s top 10 state legislators.

Mr. Gutierrez has been involved with many volunteer community and governmental groups. He was appointed by the governor of Arizona to serve on the Arizona State Retirement System Board of Trustees, and has received numerous awards and recognition from civic organizations for his community involvement and commitment to promoting minority education.

Harry E. Johnson, Sr. of Houston, Texas, was appointed to the AARP Foundation Board of Directors in 2012. As president and CEO of the Martin Luther King Memorial Foundation, he raised $120 million for the National Memorial on the Mall. He was chairman of the Houston African American Museum Board from 2006 to 2009 and was named one of the 100 Most Influential Black Americans by Ebony Magazine for four years in a row.

A career lawyer, Mr. Johnson has served as the national president of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, overseeing more than 700 chapters in the U.S. and abroad. Previously he was city attorney of Kendelton, Texas, an adjunct professor at Texas Southern University’s School of Public Affairs, and an attorney with Carver, Henry and Associates in Houston.

Tim Kelly of Lexington, Kentucky, was appointed the AARP Foundation Board of Directors in 2016. He was the president and publisher of the Lexington Herald-Leader, a position he held for nearly 15 years. Before that, he held key news and editorial management positions in several top newspaper companies. Following his retirement in 2011, he became senior adviser to the CEO of Volar Video Inc. (formerly, a video website for youth activities. Mr. Kelly is also a consultant for Youngs, Walker & Company, a Chicago executive search firm that specializes in media. He is currently serving his fourth term on the board of the YMCA of the U.S.A. and has been involved in two dozen civic and charitable organizations.

Neal Lane, MSW, of Niskayuna, New York, was appointed the AARP Foundation Board of Directors in 2016. He has been an AARP volunteer since 2007. Prior to joining the AARP board in 2014, he served as president of the AARP New York office and chaired the AARP New York Executive Council. In late 2015, he retired as a partner and analyst with consultancy Optimum Partners, having worked on projects including care systems for HIV/AIDS; dental systems for high-risk and low-income children; helping communities and schools with troubling behavior of youth; and long-term care systems, especially those for older persons and young people with disabilities. Mr. Lane was also director of the New York State Office for the Aging from 2005 to 2007 and executive deputy director before that. In 2005, he led the New York state delegation to the White House Conference on Aging.

Diane D. Miller of Sacramento, California, was appointed to the AARP Foundation Board of Directors in 2016. She is president and CEO of Wilcox Miller & Nelson, a human capital consulting firm located in Sacramento. Prior to joining her firm, she served as vice president of Portfolio Management for a national real estate investment company, which at that time was the second largest in the nation.

Among her many affiliations, Ms. Miller is a current board, audit committee, PAC fundraising and executive committee member of the California Chamber of Commerce, the second-largest state chamber in the United States. She is also a board member and chair emeritus of the California Host Committee, which annually gathers the top 1,000 California industry and government leaders.