Skip to content

Wefald, Johnson Appointed to Executive Council

Susan Wefald of Bismarck and Dr. Sharon Ervin Johnson of Minot have been appointed to the AARP North Dakota Executive Council.

Wefald was the first woman to serve on the North Dakota Public Service Commission following her appointment by Gov. Ed Schafer. She was then elected three times (1994, 1996, and 2002), serving a total of 16 years with the PSC as a strong voice for consumers. Susan served for four years as an elected member of the Bismarck Public School Board, including one year as president. Susan is a licensed social worker and has worked as a certified consumer credit counselor. She has a long record of dedicated community service. She is a violinist and has played in the Bismarck-Mandan Symphony Orchestra since its inception. She served as President of the Sakakawea Girl Scout Council and presently serves as a board member for the Dakota Horizons Girl Scout Council. She also served on the Bismarck Public Library Board of Trustees.

Johnson previously served on AARP’s Government Affairs Committee. Sharon spent her professional career in education. She began teaching history at Minot High School and became an assistant principal at Minot. In 1980, receiving a Bush Fellowship, Sharon completed her doctorate at the University of North Dakota. After six years as Assistant Dean of Continuing Education at UND, she completed her career as an Assistant Superintendent in Bismarck. Sharon retired in 1997 and worked part-time for UND serving the Graduate Center in Bismarck. Sharon has been an active volunteer at the North Dakota Heritage Center, at public libraries in Bismarck and Minot, with RSVP+ and as a board member for Prairie Public Broadcasting.

Wefald and Johnson join other Executive Council members: State President David Peterson, Bismarck; Elaine Lindgren, Fargo; Clarence Corneil, Dickinson; and Rodger Wetzel, Bismarck.

AARP Executive Council members work with staff and other volunteers to provide ongoing strategic direction for state activities in support of AARP priority issues. Executive Council terms are two years and members may be reappointed twice.

Note: We are currently in the process of replacing our commenting service, so it may take a few days for previous comments to appear. Login or register on to join the conversation.