Skip to content

Meet AARP Arizona’s Executive Council

AARP Arizona’s Executive Council is a volunteer leadership committee that helps set strategic direction for the national nonprofit organization in Arizona.  

AARP Arizona State President Len Kirschner of Litchfield Park chairs the council. He is a former director of the Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System (AHCCCS) and has been a consultant to several Medicaid programs throughout the country. He is a former Vice President of EDS, and is a principal with William M. Mercer.

Other members include:

Lanny A. Kope, EdD of Sierra Vista—Dr. Kope holds a doctorate in School Administration and Supervision from Arizona State University and has taught on all academic levels. He also served in the United States Marine Corps Reserve, retiring with the rank of Colonel. He has been the Chairman of the American Hospital Association’s Committee on Governance and currently serves on the Board of Trustees for the Sierra Vista Regional Health Center

James Strock of Scottsdale—Strock served in the cabinet of Governor Pete Wilson as California’s founding Secretary for Environmental Protection. He served as a member of California Governor-elect Arnold Schwarzenegger's environmental transition team and served in the subcabinet of President George H.W. Bush. He is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations and is listed in Who's Who in America.
Dr. Emilia E. Martinez-Brawley, EdD of Scottsdale—Dr. Martinez-Brawley is the former Dean of the ASU School of Social Work and served as Professor of Social Welfare in the Sociology Department at Penn State University. She is an author and has published articles on rural communities and services. She has lectured in several countries including Canada and Latin America.

Dr. Virginia Correa Creager, Ph.D. of Payson—Dr. Creager received her Ph.D. in Curriculum and Instruction from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. She spent 17 years in university teaching, holding faculty positions at Northern Arizona University (Payson Campus) and at Arizona State University West. She has also held a teaching position with the Payson Unified School District and spent a number of years in corporate and state administration and training.

Patricia Lewis of Phoenix—Lewis is an Advanced Certified Fund Raising Executive (ACFRE) with more than 30 years of professional experience in not-for-profit management, governance and fund raising. Prior to joining Arizona’s AARP Executive Council, Ms. Lewis served as treasurer of the AARP Foundation and Secretary of the AARP Andrus Foundation for six years.
Arizona State Director David Mitchell—Mitchell joined AARP in 1983 and has served in various regional positions including Associate Area Representative for Worker Equity; as an Acting Area Director and as a Work Force Programs Representative before being appointed State Director of AARP in Arizona. David has worked closely with business and industry, educational and community organizations to promote the value of the older worker.

Asked about those serving on Arizona’s AARP Executive Council, AARP State Director David Mitchell said “The Council is our strategic board of planners who help to ensure our platform is consistent with AARP national priorities. The experience our members bring to the Council is outstanding, and they serve our members well.”

Note: We are currently in the process of replacing our commenting service, so it may take a few days for previous comments to appear. Login or register on to join the conversation.