Skip to content

2009 Congressional Award Recipients

AARP announced the 2009 winners of the Association’s annual Congressional Awards.  The awards, launched in 2008, honor Members of Congress from across America who championed legislation to improve the lives of Americans age 50-plus and their families.  Award recipients took action to help older Americans by improving health care and bringing down overall health care costs; protecting the economic and retirement security of older Americans; and ensuring that their communities are affordable, safe and accessible.

"The Congressional Awards program recognizes the hard work lawmakers do on behalf of our members and all older Americans," said AARP CEO A. Barry Rand.  "We’re proud to present these awards to Members of Congress who have done so much in the past year to champion causes that are critical to the 50-plus population."

For 2009, AARP is recognizing twenty legislators who were instrumental in enacting and advancing legislation that will benefit older Americans in seven key areas:

For their leadership in championing economic relief for older Americans:
•    Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid (D-NV)
•    House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-CA)

For their leadership in championing opportunities for older Americans to serve their neighbors, their communities, and their country:
•    Senator Orrin Hatch (R-UT)
•    Representative Carolyn McCarthy (D-NY)

For their leadership in protecting consumers’ financial security:
•    Senator Chris Dodd (D-CT)
•    Representative Walter Jones (R-NC)
•    Representative Carolyn Maloney (D-NY)

For their leadership in preventing age discrimination and working to ensure equal rights for all workers:
•    Senator Barbara Mikulski (D-MD)
•    House Majority Leader Steny Hoyer (D-MD)
•    Representative George Miller (D-CA)

For their leadership in protecting seniors from preventable hospital readmissions:
•    Senator Susan Collins (R-ME)
•    Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)
•    Representative Earl Blumenauer (D-OR)
•    Representative Charles Boustany (R-LA)

For their leadership in combating elder abuse and exploitation:
•    Senator Orrin Hatch (R-UT)
•    Senator Herb Kohl (D-WI)
•    Senator Blanche Lincoln (D-AR)
•    Representative Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)
•    Representative Peter King (R-NY)

For their leadership in making prescription drugs more affordable for all Americans:
•    Senator Byron Dorgan (D-ND)
•    Senator Olympia Snowe (R-ME)