Skip to content

The 8 Domains of Livability: An Introduction

The availability and quality of these community features impact the well-being of older adults

The 8 Domains of Livability framework is used by many of the towns, cities, counties and states enrolled in the AARP Network of Age-Friendly States and Communities to organize and prioritize their work to become more livable for both older residents and people of all ages.

The 8 Domains of Livability

The photographs and captions featured below provide a handy introduction to the eight domains concept. Links to related publications and additional resources (including a downloadable PDF of the slideshow) are listed further down the page.

Download a PDF graphic of “The 8 Domains of Livability”

The Domains at Work

AARP Network of Age-Friendly States and Communities

A map showing the network's membership as of November 2019.

Stay Informed — For Free!

The weekly, award-winning AARP Livable Communities e-Newsletter provides local leaders with information and inspiration for making their town, city or neighborhood more livable for older adults and people of all ages. Subscribe today!

AARP Livable Communities Newsletter

Page updated April 2020