Javascript is not enabled.

Javascript must be enabled to use this site. Please enable Javascript in your browser and try again.

2012 n4a Aging Innovations and Achievement Awards Skip to content

Do vitamins and supplements really work? Get your questions answered by leading brain health experts.


2012 n4a Aging Innovations and Achievement Awards


Each year, the National Association of Area Agencies on Aging (n4a) recognizes Area Agencies on Aging programs that exhibit innovative and sound management practices. This year’s Aging Innovations and Achievement Awards were presented at the n4A Annual Conference and Tradeshow on July 8, 2012.

Key Points

The n4a presents two types of awards: Aging Innovation Awards and Aging Achievement Awards. This year, 10 agencies were presented Aging Innovation Awards, meaning their programs were deemed the most innovative of all nominations. Meanwhile, the Aging Achievement Awards recognized 44 programs across categories such as Care Transitions, Caregiving, Community Planning/Livable Communities, Elder Abuse Prevention, Financial Assistance, Healthy Aging/Nutrition, Home & Community-Based Care, Medicaid Waiver/Medicare, Technology, Transportation, Volunteerism/Civic Engagement and a catch-all category called “You Name It!”

How to Use

This document briefly profiles each award-winning program. Local community planners can use it to identify and learn about the most successful aging programs across the country, and look for ways to improve their own programs. Members of the n4a can access archived reports of previous winners on their website.

View full report: 2012 n4a Aging Innovations and Achievement Awards (PDF – 1.9 MB)

Stay Informed — For Free!

Each issue of the award-winning AARP Livable Communities e-Newsletter contains a mix of inspiring examples, community resources and information about livability efforts from places near and far. Subscribe today!

AARP Livable Communities Newsletter