Skip to content


Take 25 percent off the cost of the award-winning AARP Smart Driver online course! Use promo code ‘BHM’ for savings.



AARP’s Top Volunteer Award Goes to Chuck Engborg

Nearly 100 gathered at a celebratory luncheon at the Manchester Country Club on Oct. 25 to present Ashland resident Chuck Engborg with AARP’s most prestigious volunteer award, The Andrus Award for Community Service.

See Also: Dr. Maya Angelou – 2011 Andrus Award Recipient

The Andrus Award for Community Service, named after AARP’s founder Dr. Ethel Percy Andrus, recognizes outstanding AARP volunteers who are making a powerful difference in their communities in ways that are consistent with AARP’s mission, vision and strategic direction.

“We’re thrilled to bestow upon Chuck Engborg the most celebrated volunteer award given by AARP,” said AARP New Hampshire State Director Kelly Clark. “Chuck has spent an incredible amount of time and energy helping people and is very deserving of this award.”

Chuck serves on AARP New Hampshire’s Executive Council and is the chair of their Capital City Task Force where he monitors state legislation and often testifies on specific bills.

“Chuck is a very passionate individual, especially as it relates to health care,” added AARP New Hampshire State President Fred Kocher. “He’s a force and respected by state and federal legislators, speaking to them about health care for an aging population and reforming the current system.”

Chuck’s volunteer service goes well beyond his work with AARP. He serves as Vice Chair of the State Committee on Aging, is a member of the American Heart Association Volunteer Advocacy Board, and shares his time and talent with Speare Memorial Hospital.

Others honored at the premier volunteer recognition were:

  • Andrus Award Finalists: Lu Abbott, Milford; Barbara Carbonneau, Goffstown; Susan Donaldson, Nashua; and Judy Sisson, Unity.
  • Advocacy Volunteer of the Year: Rich Crocker, Plymouth
  • Community Organization of the Year: ServiceLink Resource Centers
  • Driver Safety Volunteer of the Year: Dick Cote, Londonderry
  • Retired Educator of the Year: Gerald Knight, Laconia
  • Tax-Aide Volunteer of the Year: Jim Theodosopoulos, Manchester

Special recognition also went to Harvey Epstein of Lee for his six years as State Coordinator of the Tax-Aide program, AARP Foundation’s no-fee tax counseling, preparation and filing service. “It’s no small feat leading hundreds of volunteer counselors in helping thousands of Granite Staters take the anxiety out of tax time,” stated Clark. “While Harvey has stepped down as State Coordinator, we are thrilled he is still involved in the program, currently serving as the District Coordinator.”

The festivities concluded with two skits performed by Senior Moments, part of the Seacoast Repertory Theatre in Portsmouth. Led by Joanne and Jim Dodge of Dover, the skits on Social Security and physical activity brought smiles and laughter – and a perfect ending to a perfect celebration.

Join the Discussion

0 | Add Yours

Please leave your comment below.

You must be logged in to leave a comment.