Skip to content

Tell Congress to Oppose Any Tax Bill That Would Increase Taxes for Seniors! Take Action Now



Submit Nominations for 2010 Andrus Awards

We all know someone who gives tirelessly of their time and talents. It is time to recognize those volunteers for their efforts. AARP South Dakota urges individuals and organizations to nominate deserving volunteers for the 2010 AARP Andrus Award for Community Service. The Andrus Award, AARP's most prestigious volunteer award, honors those individuals who share their experience, talent, and skills to enrich the lives of others.

"Half a century ago, AARP’s founder Dr. Ethel Percy Andrus, established a tradition of service," said Leni Healy, AARP South Dakota associate state director for outreach and service. “Her words ‘to serve, not to be served’ remain our motto to this day. We want to honor those who live out this commitment to service for the betterment of their community.”

All South Dakota nominees will be screened by the AARP South Dakota Executive Council. The 2010 Andrus Award for Community Service will recognize unique individuals who have demonstrated the power to make their communities better in ways that are consistent with AARP's mission, vision, and commitment to volunteer service, and that inspire others to volunteer.

AARP Andrus Award for Community Service nominees must meet the following eligibility requirements:

Nominees must be current AARP volunteers or AARP members; or must have been AARP volunteers or members during 2009.

The accomplishments, achievements or service on which the nomination is based must include the year 2009, but it need not be exclusive to 2009.

Couples or partners who perform service together are also eligible, however teams are not eligible.

The accomplishments, achievements, or service on which the nomination is based must have been performed on a volunteer basis, without pay.

The accomplishments, achievements or service on which the nomination is based must reflect AARP's priority issues of health, livable communities and/or economic security.

Individuals and organizations can submit nominations for the 2010 Andrus Award for Community Service by visiting, or by contacting the South Dakota state office by calling toll free 877-542-8172. The application deadline is June 1, 2010.

Other Resources

Andrus Award Nomination Form

Join the Discussion

0 | Add Yours

Please leave your comment below.

You must be logged in to leave a comment.

Next Article

Read This