Skip to content

Get answers to your legal and financial affairs questions about caregiving from AARP expert Amanda Singleton. Join the discussion today!



Nominate an Exceptional 50+ Iowa Volunteer for Award

AARP is seeking nominations for the 2012 AARP Iowa Andrus Award for Community Service, which honors those individuals who are sharing their experience, talent, and skills to enrich the lives of their community members.

“Volunteerism is clearly a new way of looking at retirement for older Americans. Many are finding that they want to remain active and involved and that volunteerism fulfills this need and the desire to help others,” said AARP Iowa State President Tony Vola. “Through this recognition, AARP encourages individuals to use their skills and assistance as a way to remain vital as well as make a difference in their community.”

Please take a moment to recognize someone you know for their continuing commitment to others by nominating them for the AARP Iowa Andrus Award for Community Service.

This is AARP's highest state volunteer honor. It was created to recognize exceptional volunteers, 50 years or over, who make a difference in their community in a way that is consistent with AARP's mission, vision, and commitment to volunteer service.

Last year, AARP recognized 52 outstanding individuals from around the country. Since 2001, AARP Iowa has been recognizing outstanding community volunteers with the Andrus Award. Recipients include: Richard Tiemeyer of Fort Madison; James Helvick of Badger, Don and Betty Winston of West Des Moines, Art Gratias of Mason City, Eve Casserly of Iowa City, Carolyn Swingen of Mason City, Leta Wall of Cedar Rapids, Bob Welsh of Iowa City, Mary Rose Brown of Iowa Falls and Dave Mills of Ankeny.

The screening of nominees is performed by members of the AARP Iowa Executive Council and involves a range of criteria, including positive impact on the lives of individuals age 50 or older, improvement of the community in or for which the work was performed, and serving as an inspiration to others to volunteer. The award recipient will be announced in the fall.

AARP Iowa Andrus Award for Community Service nominees must meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • Nominee must be 50 years or older.
  • The achievements, accomplishments, or service on which the nomination is based must have been performed on a volunteer basis, without pay.
  • The achievements, accomplishments, or service on which the nomination is based must reflect AARP’s vision and mission.
  • Couples or partners who perform service together are also eligible; however, teams are not eligible.

Please contact Connie Eastman at the AARP Iowa State Office at or phone 515.697.1011 for further information and a nomination form. Applications are also available online.The application deadline is June 1.

Join the Discussion

0 | Add Yours

Please leave your comment below.

You must be logged in to leave a comment.